Getting to grips with a new medium

Hi  well at long last I’m going to start blogging.  Firstly, a little about myself.  I’m a school librarian and part time comper. I’ve a husband, a grown up and married son and 2 cats.  Soon I will be a Grandma.  I’ve started using the internet for fun as well as a research tool and I’ve been reading blogs and I thought ‘I want to do that!’  So here it is, my first post.

It’s the summer break and no more work for 6 whole weeks.  So what am I going to do with all this time?  The truth is very boring.  I use  it to catch up on all the jobs I don’t have time for in the busy school year.  I’ve already taken 6 bags of jumble to the charity shop and 4 bags to the tip.

I also read all the books I’ve been trying to get around to during the year.  I’ve quite a stash and reading them will be a pleasure.  I read anything and everything.  I like well written teenage fiction, good thrillers and anything different and unusual.  I love it when I come across a book that doesn’t fit neatly into any of the recognised genre.

I wanted to start a blog because I’ve been accepted to review a few books during the year and I wanted to pass on my thought about them. I used to review children’s books and now I’ve moved on to adult fiction.  I also want to run a few comps of my own.  Once i understand what I am doing with blogging I might even get some followers!  Who knows 🙂

So here i am, and if you are reading this, hello and welcome.  Please feel free to comment, offer help / criticism or just your view of the world.

Leave a Reply

